Advice / Articles / Blogging / Life / News / Personal / Personal Goals / Thoughts

Today is all

So, yesterday was toodling along in it’s normal fashion. Work? Check. Nick’s paper route? Check. Laundry, cleaning? Check check. Dinner? Check. Post-dinner errands with Chloe? Check. Leaving the shopping centre to see dozens of police cars and a massive cordoned-off area? Check. Possible gang-related murder? Check. What the eff??? Chloe and I managed to find out through a series of texts (with siblings of eye witnesses) and snippets of overheard conversations that a man died while we were in a nearby shop. I mean if that doesn’t give you pause to reflect on the fragile nature of life I don’t know what does.

I’m sure there are countless facts that will emerge about this case to explain what happened. Unfortunately, nothing re-animates this man who was lying under a tarp. I mean you get up in the morning, it’s a gorgeous day – blue sky, birds singing, magnolias gloriously in bloom – and then blam! you’re dead. I realize this isn’t an isolated event nor even particularly remarkable, but when you’re there it’s strangely surreal.

My takeaway, as ever, is live the life you want to live NOW. Tell the people you love that you love them. Do the things that make you happy. Give your time and money to worthy causes – you can’t take either of them with you. Smile. Spread the love. Buy a stranger a coffee. Take art classes. Garden. Make your own list of happy-making activities and then do them. Hug your children. Make love to your partner. ( ;) ) Re-affirm life. Be fulfilled. I wish this for me. And I most certainly desire this for you. Don’t live an empty life. Suck the juice out of each and every second.

Before it’s too late.

802eca0336ec20a7acdaee773fecf794

9 thoughts on “Today is all

    • Thanks! And here I thought my timing had been completely off lately! As in I have none! I am missing all my blogger buddies! Thanks for the love, lady! :)

  1. Love the third paragraph and the Picasso quotation. Glad you are safe, Sarah.Thanks for the reminder to spread the love. {{{hugs}}} Kozo

Leave a Reply

