Art / Blogging / Family / Life / Personal / Personal Goals / Thoughts

Re-discovering my inner Salvador Dali

Until recently, this  was me…

Each morning when I awake, I experience again a supreme pleasure – that of being Salvador Dali.  – Salvador Dali

… with the small exception that my name’s Sarah, obviously. I have been fully, deliciously content with being me. Until, like I said, recently. With my mojo on hiatus, I have found myself having some rather dark days. My family has noticed and a few friends. I myself have been struggling to know what’s up.

Sure, Glenn was gone. That didn’t help. It’s grey and weirdly foggy all the time. That probably doesn’t help. But, truth be told, there is more to it than that. This morning – to boost my mood – I took to my garden. I raked up some final leaves and trimmed a few shrubs and walked circles around my front garden, burning the midnight oil far before it’s time. I thought through former dark patches – one major, a few minor and reminded myself of all the very real things I could do to push back the darkness.

What I realized while walking an invisible labyrinth was that I am having a supremely mortal moment. My first dark patch was after the loss of a pregnancy. Since then, I have lost a best friend, my dad, & my mom. And I’m 46. Halfway through (ish) my life. When the hell did that happen? To be this age and be the matriarch of your family is truly weird. And heavy.

I guess I am grieving. No more, no less. Just like millions of people worldwide. My situation is unique and the same all at the same time. It makes me feel isolated and connected, simultaneously. More than anything, it makes me daydream of blue skies and happy times – both past and future. I will climb out of this, sooner rather than later. And I will once again be galvanized into irritatingly positive posts. In the mean time, I will leave you with another Dali quote. This is where I’ve been and where I see myself shortly… Until next time, s. xo

salvador_dali_quote_by_guzinanda-d4y514r

21 thoughts on “Re-discovering my inner Salvador Dali

  1. Sarah, take it from me: the best remedy is a good glass of a delicious wine of your choosing that you sip while looking at that beautiful landscape you guys have in BC – no matter how grey, it is such a blessed country! And when all gets dark, I would watch again the Austin Powers movie when Dr Evil steals his mojo, but then Austin comes back at full throttle: I tell you, there’s SO MUCH WISDOM in those movies… :-D
    Well, that’s at least my attempt to put a smile on your face and drag you back into the light!
    Feel better

    • Stefano! A glass of wine is definitely in order, I can attest to that. Also, we are on the brink of a 4-day weekend here and an Austin Powers marathon might be just what the doctor ordered. Both are excellent suggestions. Grazie mille, my friend! :D

    • Thanks, my friend. It’s much appreciated. What would be more appreciated is if you could send some of that California sunshine this way. Maybe just maybe this California chick is hard-wired for sunny winters!? Hugs to you!

  2. Brilliant post, I love how you know that things have been good in the past and will be good again. That kind of perspective is so helpful in dark times when the temptation is to wallow and think that it’s always going to be this way.

    Grieving is a normal and natural, even important part of life, it has it’s own beauty. It’s very tough, but it makes us wiser :)

    You take care, keep well, and I look forward to being irritated with positivity again soon ;)

    Rohan.

    • Oh, Rohan, you’re a sweetheart. Thank you for reminding me that grieving is beautiful too. I’ve been so focused on being positive, I forgot that there is beauty and knowledge to be gained from other emotions/things as well. Kozo’s post on crying really made an impact as well. I LOVED your peace post. What a great contribution to the movement! As for me, I really am well. I was just having a moment. Thanks for swinging by! s. :)

Leave a Reply

