Advice / Articles / Blogging / Friendship / Life / Opinion / Personal / Social Media / Thoughts

“I think I’m right all the time.” ~Sarah {Now, could someone please make this all pretty, so I can pin it.}

I’ve been thinking about writing this post – or one like it – for weeks now.  And there’s no small amount of irony involved in actually writing it and sending it “out there”.  This will become clear once you read.  I did want to mention it now, so that at some point when you get it, you don’t think it’s lost on me.  I get it.

One of the major upsides of social media is that we get to see massive amounts of positivity, complete with inspirational quotes, messages and – not to be underestimated – beautiful photos, graphics, fonts, etc.  For my favourites, I have a Pinterest board, “Truth“, to which I add as and when I see things that resonate.  “Oh, I like that.” …. repin.  “Oh, totally.” … repin.  “Hooooly, yes!”…. repin.  “Amen, sistah!”… repin.  You get the point. No harm, no foul.  It’s all good…

Until the day you take a look at your board and realize that not only are some of the quotes contradictory, some of them have no effing idea what they’re talking about.  Just because you have an opinion and the graphic design know-how to make a beautiful pin, please just stop already.  I hate to tell you this, but you’re wrong.  You’re not Oscar Wilde or Albert Camus, Salvador Dali, or the Dalai Lama.  Just stop.

To the person who made this crazy-popular pin…

29273466299242968_EQpnghkP_c

…that keeps making the rounds, I say how selfish are you?  I mean really.  Life’s not all about you.  I agree with maybe half of this, but please keep your negative opinions to yourself, unless asked, of course.  Who the hell wants the whole world running around giving unsolicited dislikes?  Can you imagine?

I’m sure the creator of this is a lovely person who wanted to “keep it simple” and, seriously, more power to them, but life isn’t simple.  If you have the EQ of a gnat, you shouldn’t be opening your mouth without being able to read a situation.  I mean it probably (maybe!) beats the whole passive-aggressive thing, but that’s a stretch.

{As a quick aside, has anyone seen “The Smurfs”??  The line where Smurfette says, “But I don’t really miss Passive Aggressive Smurf.  He’s always really nice when I’m with him, but when he leaves I always feel really bad,” is awesome.  Smurfette, you totally rocked that one.}

Having thought about this alot recently, I’d say there’s a threshold that has to be met before you lay negative shit at someone’s doorstep.  And, that threshold is simple:  Is it worth the potential consequences?  If yes, then go for it.  If no, then shut the hell up.  Please.

I have big and small examples to give, but I’ll pass because I’m really not writing this to vent (as I might have in the past).  It is my truest wish in writing this potentially negative post (see, irony) is to make people realize that life isn’t simple.  Words speak volumes.  And, please, for the love of god, use your brain and decide for yourself what’s true and what’s not.  Simple is for sheep.  Simple is, in the end, too simplistic.  Life’s messy and complicated and sometimes it’s better to swallow that thought than whip out an evil (yet oh-so-satisfying ;) ) e-mail or text. Sometimes it’s better to remember that…

282037995384538677_MozgdZbZ_c

Hallelujah.  My parting advice – and, it’s my blog, so, yes, I get to do that – is…

9499849185676462_XhtPHNhB_c

Thanks for reading.  If you’ve made it this far, I salute you.  Now, go get shit done!  s. xoxo

14 thoughts on ““I think I’m right all the time.” ~Sarah {Now, could someone please make this all pretty, so I can pin it.}

  1. “Don’t be a dick”…is that like “Dick in a Box”? I try not to be a dick, but sometimes I pull “dick” off really well…not intentionally…but really well (especially according to my kids)!!!

  2. Love this, Sarah. I saw this pin floating around and I felt something was a little too simple about it, but I didn’t spend the time to analyze it. Thank you for doing the work and letting us know. More importantly, thank you for keeping us mindful of instinctively re-posting/tweeting/pinning things that seem cool.
    Having said that, I would gladly re-tweet, “Silence is the best reply to a fool.” :)

    • Thanks for taking the time to read, Kozo! I’m so thankful to have found you and other wonderful bloggers on this journey. As for the “Silence…” quote, I re-pinned it!! :)

Leave a Reply

